Wednesday, October 1, 2008

::Q-Tip::The Renaissance::Cover Art & Show Wrap::

Tip (a.k.a. The Abstract) is one of my favorite Hip-Hop artists. This kat lives to take chances and incessantly push the envelope. Only problem is he releases a record once every 10 years on average. The Renaissance has had a few incarnations via internet leaks. But if you check the tracklisting on the cover, a few of these tracks are new. Some of the joints that were on the leak commonly known as Live At The Renaissance (the original name of the album slated for release at various times over the past 3 years) are noticeably absent here. Hmm. Now I really wanna check this joint out. Coincidentally (or not), The Renaissance drops on Election Day - November 4th. Oh yeah...just in case the tracklisting on the pic above is a little hard to make out, here you go:

1. Johnny Is Dead
2. Won't Trade
3. Gettin' Up
4. Offishal
5. You
6. Fight/ Love (feat. Raphael Saadiq)
7. Manwomanboogie (feat. Amanda Diva)
8. Move
9. Dance On Glass
10. Life Is Betta (feat. Norah Jones)
11. Believe (feat. D'Angelo)
12. Shaka

No production credits as of yet, but I'll find out soon!

BTW...If you missed his free show Monday in NYC, you played yourself:

DJ Scratch (formerly of EPMD) warmed up the crowd lovely.

Your man did his thing solo.

His lil cuz Consequence came through with some hot verses.

And his Native Tongue brethren Busta Rhymes jumped up on stage and murdered his infamous "Scenario" verse. Then Busta and fellow Flipmode rhyme slinger Lord Have Mercy previewed Busta's upcoming single "Arab Money."

I'm tellin you. It just don't get no better. Plus, if you were bored as hell and needed some pre-show amusement, you could
text a message from your celly to the screen onstage:

To be honest, I'm really looking forward to hearing this record. ELECTION DAY!!!!

No comments: